If you're an Android user, I suggest you connect the game to your Google account instead. Same place, different button. Either will work, but connecting your Google account doesn't give you the scary-looking prompt that looks like you're about to lose your entire game progress.
But that's it. Sync, delete, reinstall, download remaining game bits, play.